Hatching Chick Deviled Eggs

Hatching Chick Deviled Eggs

As most of you know, Easter was last Sunday. I spent two days with my aunt working on a dinner, this recipe was definitely my favorite thing that we made and it was well received by the guests. I had been scrolling through Tumblr looking for things to add to my queue for the next two days  (I knew that I’d be busy visiting family and preparing for the get together) and that’s when I saw it. There was a picture of the eggs and I thought they were absolutely adorable, but sadly there was no link. That’s when I went to Pinterest, my go to site for mystery recipes. I found them, tons of hatching deviled egg recipes. I’d reached my goal. After looking at at least six I realized that they were basically all the same, only with different recipes for filling and slight differences in the cutting method. Once I started to see a pattern I decided to just wing it and to use my aunt’s filling recipe. This is my tutorial for hatching deviled eggs.

What you need:


Equipment:

  • Large pot (for boiling eggs.)
  • One large serving platter.
  • Cutting board.
  • Small knife.
  • 2 Small bowls (for capers and carrots.)
  • Three plates (to separate egg pieces.)

Ingredients:

For Filling – (Note: you can use any recipe for filling that you want, this is just the one I chose to use.)

  • 24 hard boiled eggs. 
  • 1 Cup Mayonnaise or Miracle Whip 
  • 1/2 Cup Sweet pickle relish 
  • 1 tbs mustard

For Decoration –

  •  Capers (about 48.)
  • Shredded carrots. (Use either whole carrots or buy the smallest bag you can find of pre shredded carrots.) 


The Steps

To cut the eggs:

  • Hard-boil the eggs.  (Here’s how)
  • Peel the eggs. 
  • Take the eggs and cut them in a zig zag pattern to look like a cracked egg. Kind of like this. This job is easier than it looks, make sure to keep your hand steady and watch the places you cut so that the cuts do not overlap.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Gently pull the cut eggs apart and separate the tops from the bottoms. (place the yolks in a separate bowl.)
  • Cut a small sliver off of the bottom eggs so that they will sit up and stay sturdy. 
  • Set the eggs on the platter of your choice. 
  • For the tops of the shells cut off the round parts of the tops of the eggs, they’ll be like tiny circles. If you use the entire top the filling will get squished and the eggs’ faces will be distorted.

To make the filling: 

  • Add the cup of mayonnaise and the relish to the egg yolks. 
  • Mash yolks with your fork then mix thoroughly.
  • Add filling to piping back or ziplock bag (cut off a small piece of the corner.)

To fill and decorate:

  • Ready your cutting board and knife.
  • Take out a small handful of shredded carrots. (How to shred carrots.)
  • Put your capers somewhere for easy access, I suggest a small bowl. 
  • Cut six small pieces of carrots out for each foot for the eggs, I only gave the ones around the edge of the platter feet for presentation purposes. 
  • Place the carrot pieces at the base of each egg like so.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Fill eggs with the piping bag or ziplock bag. Do so by squeezing gently and making sure to move your hand in a circle so the filling will be even.
  • Cut pieces of carrots into the shape you want for the beaks, place them into the filling.
  • Place to capers into the filling where you want the eyes to be.
  • Put the tops you cut out on top of the filled eggs.

There you have it, perfect, and cute, deviled eggs!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They’re egg-cellent! 😉

Leave a Reply

